Flix Not to Miss: Katy Perry: Part of Me

When my daughter begged me to rent Katy Perry:  Part of Me, I was skeptical; but she was insistent, and I like Katy Perry’s music.  I was expecting a slick, packaged, overly long concert flick. I was pleasantly surprised.  The movie is loosely structured around the arc of Perry’s marriage to and subsequent break-up from comedian Russell Brand during her California Dream tour.  Directors Dan Cutforth and Jane Lipsitz capture some very raw emotions backstage and I found myself drawn into her story. 

Perry is a terrific performer  with an innate sense of her fans and how to please them; she’s also a strong young woman with an incredible sense of self.  The documentary skillfully provided glimpses of Perry’s strong work ethic and insight into the personal sacrifices she’s had to make. Watching Katy Perry:  Part of Me,found myself with a new respect for Katy Perry and I was pleased to see qualities in her that I’d want my daughter to emulate. 

Katy Perry:  Part of Me is available to watch streaming on Netflix as well as on DVD with Redbox and for purchase.

– KIM CUMMINGS (@kimcummings)

Leave a Reply

