New Member Spotlight: Imoya Monroque

The NYWIFT fall membership drive is almost over. So, it’s a perfect time to check in with new member Imoya Monroque and find out why she joined NYWIFT.

Imoya, would you tell us a bit about your acting career?
I am a member of SAG/AFTRA and have appeared in several national commercials and TV shows and pilots, such as Ugly Betty and Law & Order. I’ve worked on a number of feature films too—most recently, Protocon, Stranger in Paradise, and Can a Song Save Your Life. I also do some modeling and have been featured in several US and international magazines, including Essence.

What motivated you to join NYWIFT?
In 2011, I wrote a marketing plan to take my acting career to the next level.  I realized that being a union member was not enough for me. This is a lonely career, and I wanted to be part of a creative group of people who were writers, directors, and producers to collaborate with and learn from.

I heard about NYWIFT from a friend who had attended some workshops and told me about the tremendous opportunity for networking with women working in the business.

You joined NYWIFT as a Gold Member. Why did you choose that membership level?
At a screening of Nigerian films in 2013, I met a NYWIFT board member who explained that for just a few dollars more monthly, I could be become a Gold Member. This level would entitle me to attend most events at no cost, unlike basic membership. I think this is a bargain.

What do you hope to get out of your involvement with the NYWIFT community?
Joining NYWIFT has been one of the most important career decisions I have made lately. I have access to new information, and I love attending the workshops and screenings, and the new connections I have made. The members are welcoming, and some of the people I have met have even invited me to participate in their projects.

Join NYWIFT by Wednesday (December 4, 2013) and get 50% off the initiation fee (usually $135, reduced to $67.50).  Already a member? Encourage your friends and colleagues to join.  The member who refers the most applicants during the drive will receive 5 free raffle tickets at the Muse Awards this year.

MAURA KELLY

Maura Kelly serves on NYWIFT’s Board of Directors as the Vice President of Membership and Committee Chair.

